What are the international marine fuel standards that ships use?

Asked by Normandy 7 years, 5 months ago | 3 Answers

3 Answers

lampanda 7 years, 5 months ago
To add some information on the Residual Fuel, Residual Fuel is the by-product of distilling crude oil to produce lighter petroleum products. It possesses high viscosity and density, which affects ignition quality, and it typically has high ash, sulfur and nitrogen content in comparison to marine distillate fuels. Furthermore, Residual Fuel parameters are highly variable because its content is not regulated. The EPA estimated that Residual Fuel can increase engine NOx emissions from 20-50% and PM from 750% to 1250% (sulfate particulates) when compared to distillate fuel.

wozniakmic 7 years, 5 months ago
There is a large number of residual fuel categories are available due to variations in crude oil supplies, refining methods, ship machinery characteristics and other local conditions. Marine Fuel often takes into account various international requirements for such properties as flash point and sulfur, it is up to the user to identify and ensure compliance with all local, national and regional requirements.

pasmith 7 years, 5 months ago

The classification of marine fuels is based on the main applications and characteristics of the products. The classification is broken down into distillate fuels and residual fuels.

The marine fuels are designated by a code that consists of:

  • the initials ISO,
  • the letter F (for petroleum fuels),
  • the category of fuel, consisting of three letters:
    • the first letter of this category is the family letter (D for distillate or R for residual);
    • the second letter, M, designates the application “Marine”,
    • the third letter, X, A, B, C, …, K, which indicates the particular properties in the product specification (ISO 8217),
  • for residual fuels, a number which corresponds to the maximum kinematic viscosity, in mm2/s, at 50°C.

For example a product may be designated in the complete form, e.g. ISO-F-RMA 10, or in abbreviated form, e.g. F-RMA 10.